Make your own free website on

Home   Players   Events   Trivias   Gallery


Jethro Dionisio            Adolfo Feliciano


Athena Lee            Kaye Cabalatungan


Other Shooting Champions







Gold Medalists

At the 1954 Manila Asiad, Hernando Castelo Albert von Einsiedel, Chito Feliciano, Martin Gison each won a gold medal in shooting. Feliciano and Gison also won a gold medal each in the 1958 Tokyo Asiad.

Jethro "the Jet" Dionisio

Jethro Dionisio, dubbed as "the Jet" because of the speed of his hands, is a six-time world champion in pistol shooting. He won his first national title in 1989 at the age of 17. He won his first international title in California the following year. From practical shooting, Dionisio has now shifted to shotgun firing.

Adolfo Feliciano

Adolfo Feliciano won a gold medal, two silver medals and a bronze medal in the World Shooting Championships held in Germany in 1966. Two years later, he added two gold medals and a bronze medal in the same competition held in Phoenix, Arizona. Before this, he won a gold medal in the First Asian Shooting tournament held in Tokyo, Japan and a silver medal in "markmanship" (a demonstration event) at the 1964 Tokyo Olympics.

Athena Lee

In November 1999, Athena Lee won the Open Ladies title at the 12th World Shoot Championship. In 2002, Lee placed second to Kaye Cabalatungan in the same event. She is from Cagayan de Oro City.

Kaye Cabalatungan

On September 21, 2002, Kaye Cabalatungan won the ladies title at the 13th World Shoot Championship held in Pietersburg, South Africa. Ironically, she beat Athena Lee, another Filipina, to win the championship. Cabalatungan, Lee, Grace Tan and Amanda Kangleon also captured the ladies team title in the event held by the International Practical Shooting Confederation (IPSC). Cabalatungan was born in Negros Occidental province in 1981.

Other Shooting Champions

Among the Filipino shooters who have participated in various international meets include Jay Agayan, Eric Ang, Leopoldo Ang, Antonio Arguelles, Enrique Beech, Patricio Bernardo, Philip Chua, Roberto del Castillo, George Earnshaw, Ludovico Espinosa, Cesar Jayme, Jasmin Luis, Patrick Marvin, Simeon Lee, Arturo Macapagal, Jose Medina, Antonio Mendoza, Jamie Recio, Bernardo San Juan, Raymundo Quitoriano, Danny Torrevillas, Nelson Uygongco, and Jose Zalvidea.